The CESP Board of Directors has overall responsibility for the work of CESP. CESP's board members are government officials, environmentalists, and concerned citizens like you. Meet them!


Shirley Dean

Shirley Dean started her civic career in the late 1960s by working with Urban ...

Norman La Force

Norman La Force is Vice-President and a founding member of Citizens for East ...

Marge Atkinson

Recording Secretary
Marge Atkinson is the former Mayor and city council member for the City of ...

Alan Carlton

Alan Carlton is a lifelong resident of the East Bay, an avid hiker and biker on ...

Board of Directors

Ellen Barth

Board of Directors
Ellen Barth has been a member of local environmental groups for many years, ...

Helen Burke

Board of Directors
A 45-year resident of Berkeley, Helen moved here with her former husband John ...

Doris Sloan

Board of Directors
Doris Sloan is a retired Adjunct Professor in the Dept. of Earth and Planetary ...

Tony Sustak

Board of Directors
Tony is a longtime activist, who was recruited to join CESP in 2008, by former ...

Brennan Cox

Board of Directors
Brennan is a landscape architect and urban designer with 15 years of  experi...

Pam Stello

Board of Directors
Pam is an environmental activist and an educator. She has worked for years to ...

Teddi Baggins

Board of Directors
Teddi Baggins is a home CEO and gardener. Teddi has been an active member of ...

Alix Mazuet

Board of Directors
Originally from Southern France, Alix spent most of her childhood between ...

Sally Tobin

Board of Directors
Sally Tobin grew up west of Port Angeles, Washington, within sight of Olympic ...

Kelly Hammargren

Board of Directors

Advisory Board

Ken Bukowski

Advisory Board
Ken Bukowski has served in the Emeryville City Council since 1987, including ...

Mark Liolios

Advisory Board
Aquatic Park Mark Liolios has long been active in improving Berkeley's open ...

Arthur Feinstein

Advisory Board
Arthur Feinstein has worked on wetland issues "local, state and federal" for ...

Larry Kolb

Advisory Board
Larry Kolb is a civil engineer with a career focus on water. He served for many ...

Robert Lieber

Advisory Board
Robert Lieber is former mayor and council member of Albany is a member of ...

Rich Walkling

Advisory Board
Rich Walkling is the CFO for Restoration Design Group in West Berkeley – a ...

Patty Donald

Advisory Board
Patty Donald is a member of the City of Berkeley Shorebird Park staff. In 1979, ...

David Lewis

Advisory Board
David Lewis returned to his native Bay Area to lead Save the Bay in 1998, after ...

Tom Bates

Advisory Board Elected Official
Tom Bates Tom Bates has served as Vice-President of Citizens for East Shore ...

Former Board and Advisory Board

Sylvia McLaughlin

Emeritus Co-Chair Secretary (1916-2016)

Betty Olds

Advisory Board (1920-2017)
A native of Missouri, Betty Olds moved to Berkeley in the mid- 1940s with her ...

Stana Hearne

Advisory Board (1926-2016)

Ed Bennett

Ed Bennett served as Treasurer and Assistant Treasurer of Citizens for East ...


Roberta Wyn

Roberta Wyn is a health policy researcher and data analyst whose work focuses ...

Robert Cheasty

Executive Director


Dorothy Lindheim